Why YOU Should Apply to UBC REC

It’s that time of year again, friends. Storm the Wall is raging, papers are calling, and the sunshine is teasing us. But, admist all this hurly-burly chaos, UBC REC is looking for Assistant Directors for the 2012/2013 school year.

One year ago at exactly this time, I was standing watching the Super Ironman finals of Storm the Wall, alone, because I didn’t know really anybody at UBC. Though the lean and mean figures of those two redheads were quite distracting, I couldn’t help but notice how much fun the volunteers behind them were having. Music was playing, the people in the red coats were dancing, a loud guy was pumping up the crowd over the speaker system… it was quite the spectacle.

After, I walked over to my Poli 260 discussion where I sat down next to Tegan Stusiak, who had mentioned she was in REC and was going to be a director next year. I expressed how inspirational watching Storm was, and she said I should apply, but applications closed  that night. In a very un-Jill move, I said “to hell with it” and submitted my application. I honestly had no idea what I was getting myself into; I had never even participated in a REC event or league!

In a canny coincedence, it just so happened that Tegan was going to be director of The Point, UBC REC’s online magazine. With my interest in writing and publishing, The Point was my 1st and (I believe) only choice in my application.

A few days later, Tegan called me up and asked me to come for an interview. Again, I had no idea what to expect. It was a volunteer job – how seriously did REC take themselves? Well, pretty seriously, and rightfully so! It was slightly awkward for me, and probably Tegan, to be interviewed by someone I knew on friendly, not professional, terms. But, there I was, being asked the typical interview questions, and also the atypical – “Why shouldn’t we hire you?”, “Tell me a joke”.

I left, still feeling unsure and insecure, but by the end of the week, Tegan called me during my commute home and told me I got the job! I’m not going to lie, I was more worried if I didn’t get the job how awkward it would be to see her in class the next week than I was worried about actually not getting the job.  So phew, I didn’t have to deal with that!

So months passed, and my feelings of doubt still lingered until September when I finally met most of the people in the REC program, and the rest of my crew. Alot has happened since September, and I have changed alot. REC brought me such an unexpected amount of excitement, enthusiasm, and passion that I had never experienced before.

At first, I was excited because the student office had a fusbal table and a comfy couch – but I don’t go there for those things anymore (okay, maybe the couch sometimes). I go because there is not one single person in the program who intimidates me, makes me feel small, or makes me feel like I am not good enough. The energy expelled by the program is saturated with positivity and inspiration – so much so that our program motto is “you can do it!” (I’m not sure if that’s exactly what it is, but it’s along those lines).

I volunteer for things I would never volunteer for. I do hours of extra work on top of my school work because I love it. I stay late at school after class just to talk to people. I can’t literally imagine going to UBC now and not being a part of REC.

REC has changed every aspect of my life. The people, the parties, the socials; they make me feel loved. The assignments, the recognition, the swag (holla raincoats!); make me feel appreciated. And the program makes me feel like I belong and there is no where else I need to be.

Now, exactly 12 months after that pivotal decision to apply for REC, I am in the same position as Tegan. I will be director of The Point next year and I will foster a crew that hopefully feels the same way I do. If there is anything I want to get out of my REC experience, it is the knowledge that, like Tegan, I helped change someone’s life – and if I can’t accomplish that, just knowing that people are being exposed to this opportunity is enough.

You might be like me, one of 40,000 students on this campus looking for something to be a part of. Or you might already be involved on campus and looking for something more. You don’t even need to like sports – Hell, I don’t! (Shhh… don’t tell REC that…)

I can’t express how much I would encourage anyone to apply for REC. In the end, it is up to you to swallow that brick sized chunck of doubt and take the plunge.

I’m going to give you the link to applications and more info about the program and positions – and in the words of Russell Peters – take it and go. APPLY HERE!

– Applications are due Tuesday, March 27th at 5pm.

3 responses to “Why YOU Should Apply to UBC REC

  1. Hi Jill,

    Just want to clarify, is the deadline today or tomorrow? It’s posted as Wednesday, March 27 but today is Tuesday.

    Thanks!

    • Hi Merry! Sorry yes I had my dates mixed up, applications are due TODAY!
      Sorry about the confusion.

What's Your Opinion?

