Trying to Play It Cool, but Fate is Getting Too Exciting

Fate is nothing but the deeds committed in a prior state of existence.

Well, Emerson, I politely disagree with you – again. Fate has been really throwing itself at me for the past year. I’ve only just realized the huge impact that certain small decisions have created.

Let’s start with the first noticeable interception fate has made:

On a whim last March, I decided to skip class and watch Storm the Wall, all by my lonesome self. Loud music was playing, chocolate milk was flowing, hot red-heads were throwing themselves at a wall; it was a pretty good time. Seeing this spectacle go down inspired me to comment to a girl in one of my classes, who worked for REC, that I thought it was pretty neat. It just so happened, she informed me, that applications for 2011/2012 REC staff closed that night. On another whim, I decided to throw my hat in the race just to see what would happen. Turns out, it was a pretty good decision.

What else, you ask?

Well, because of this first chance of fate, I ended up in the REC student office one January afternoon. My meeting had finished and I didn’t have much work to do in the office. Spurred by a sudden boredom and a craving for tea, I meandered over to Buchanan A (or was it Buchanan B? Just kidding. I know my Buchanans) to the Stir It Up Cafe. After I grabbed my tea, I still had a few minutes to spare until class started, so I decided I would go check out the big board of posters while the caffeine made it’s way to my head. There, smack dab in the middle of the board was a poster for Queen’s Blyth Worldwide. I had been in a dire search for a study abroad trip to Europe for the month of June, and what was Queen’s advertising? France in June, 1 month, with Canadian students. My heart melted like a freshly baked croissant had just graced my lips. One week later, after some research, I applied and paid my first deposit. France was a go! Then, I started to think. Funny, if I wasn’t in the REC office that afternoon, I would have been in the library on my computer and would have gone to Ike’s for tea. I would never have had the spare time to look at that board, and I would never have heard of Queen’s-Blyth.

Now, just wait, it’s about to get better.

So today, on my day off, I am creeping Facebook and find that an old friend of mine who I have not seen since 2008 will be in France at the same time as me, only a few miles away. Now, this would seem a lot more serendipitous if I could explain the full story, but I don’t want to bring up old news and I’m trying to play it cool. Let’s just say, if you want to know, ask me in person because the way fate has just decided to show up is really getting me excited.

What's Your Opinion?

